Communications Center
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Academic News & Events > Teachers College Faculty and Staff Recognitions

Teachers College Faculty and Staff Recognitions

Contributed by: Sherri Beaty
Published: Monday, 25 August 2014 12:00 AM
W. Holmes Finch, professor of Educational Psychology, has been named the George and Frances Ball Distinguished Professor of Educational Psychology. Holmes is one of five distinguished professors in the Teachers College.

Donald Nicholas, professor of Counseling Psychology and Guidance Services, received the Dorothy Booz Black Award for Outstanding Achievement in Counseling Health Psychology at the 2014 Annual Convention of the American Psychological Association (Div. 17 - Society of Counseling Psychology).

Wilisha Scaife, director of the Muncie P3 program in the Department of Elementary Education, and Ruby Cain, assistant professor of Adult and Community Education in the Department of Educational Studies, have been selected to receive the Vivian Conley “Women Who Make a Difference” Award.

Associate professors Eva Zygmunt and Pat Clark, and MP3 Program Director Wilisha Scaife from the Department of Elementary Education, were awarded an $800,000 grant from the Indiana Department of Education to continue their successful Muncie P3 program. The program provides after school enrichment and summer programs to students at Longfellow Elementary School in Muncie.

Olga Mounayar, Instructor of French at the Indiana Academy for Science, Mathematics and Humanities, was awarded the 2014 Lilly Endowment Teacher Creativity Fellowship. The competitive program helps Indiana licensed teachers to accomplish a creative project in support of personal renewal and intellectual revitalization.

Susan Albrecht is President-elect of the National Council for Children with Behavioral Disorders. Albrecht is the Special Education Coordinator and Student Data Specialist at Burris Laboratory School.

Lisa Rubenstein, assistant professor in the Department of Educational Psychology, received the 2014 Excellence in Teaching Award.

David McIntosh, the David and Joanna Meeks Distinguished Professor of Special Education, was appointed to the Journal of Early Childhood and Infant Psychology as an Associate Editor.

Linda Taylor, assistant professor in the Department of Elementary Education, was elected to the Board of the National Association of Early Childhood Educators as an Affiliate Chair.

Renee Huffman, kindergarten teacher at Burris Laboratory School, received the Alpha Delta Kappa Excellence in Education Award.

Shon Byrum, instructor of social studies at Burris Laboratory School, was selected to participate in Courts in the Classroom, a program that allows teachers to hear Indiana Supreme Court arguments to enhance their classroom instruction.

John Ellis, assistant professor in the Department of Educational Leadership, will be inducted into the Garrett High School Distinguished Hall of Honor in September.

Susan Tancock, professor of Elementary Education, was appointed to the International Reading Association Task Force on Teacher Preparation for Literacy Instruction.

Gilbert Park, associate professor of Social Foundations and Multicultural Education in the Department of Educational Studies, is a 2014-15 Fulbright U.S. Scholar to South Korea. Park, with the assistance of researchers and educators at Kongju National University, will conduct a qualitative research project on the school experiences of multicultural students in South Korean public schools.

Lawrence Gerstein, George and Frances Ball Distinguished Professor of Counseling Psychology, was a 2014 Fulbright U.S. Scholar. Dr. Gerstein taught Cross-Cultural Counseling and Brief Solution Focused Counseling at Chinese University and the City University of Hong Kong from January — June.

Ayesha Sadaf, assistant professor of Educational Studies, has been named a Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Fellow by the Ball State University Office of Educational Excellence.

Bethany Clegg, instructor of Physical Education and Health at Burris Laboratory School, is president of the Indiana Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (IAHPERD) for 2014. IAHPERD is a professional education association for teachers, administrators, researchers, coaches, students and other allied professionals.